ABN AMRO World Wheelchair Tennis Tournament

Eight years ago, during the 34th ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament, a wheelchair tennis demonstration was given by Robin Ammerlaan and Ronald Vink. They played against Richard Krajicek and Jan Siemerink on the centre court of “Sportpaleis Ahoy”. Esther Vergeer provided the commentary on the match. This spectacle, which was received with a lot of enthusiasm from the crowd, led to the origination of the ABN AMRO World Wheelchair Tennis Tournament.

The first ABN AMRO World Wheelchair Tennis Tournament was played in 2009 and was won by the Dutchmen Robin Ammerlaan. In 2010 the Frenchmen Stéphane Houdet won the title. The following two editions where claimed by Ronald Vink. Last year’s tournament was won by Shingo Kunieda from Japan. From the first moment on the tournament was recognized as a ITF1 tournament by the International Tennis Federation. Ahoy installed on Sports Plaza special gamecourts and stands for wheelchair tennis.

The seventh ABN AMRO World Wheelchair Tennis Tournament is held from 10 until 14 February 2015, during the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament. The top athletes of the international wheelchair tennis will be coming to Rotterdam, to show the highest level of wheelchair tennis. During the seventh edition again 12 top athletes will come to Ahoy Rotterdam for the tournament.

The ABN AMRO World Wheelchair Tennis Tournament is for the 7th time led by tournament director Esther Vergeer, who won her 4th Paralympic medal in Londen 2012 and announched her retirement as an active tennis player at last year tournament. At the time of her retirement she was undefeated for more than 470 games.

By organizing this tournament, ABN AMRO clearly states with her commitment to 1% FairShare® and the Fund Disabledsport that the development of wheelchair tennis is important to the bank.

With the 1% FairShare® agreement ABN AMRO obligates itself of using at least 1% of it’s sport sponsorship budget on disabled sport.